2016 Heritage BC Awards & Gala

Heritage BC 2016 Awards Gala from Heritage BC on Vimeo. 

The Heritage BC 35th Anniversary Awards Gala, held at The Imperial, Vancouver on Thursday, February 18, 2016, was a fantastic evening. We welcomed familiar and new faces to join us in celebrating Heritage BC's 35th year and honouring British Columbia's best heritage conservation projects. We are so grateful for the generosity of our Annual Gala guests, volunteers and sponsors for making this event a success!

Check out our photo gallery from the event.

The Board of Directors of Heritage BC recognized and honoured the following special projects and accomplishments:



Heritage Education and Awareness


Heritage Burnaby Website Upgrades Project
Burnaby Community Heritage Commission 

Mack Laing Baybrook House 
Ekaterina Panayotof, Angela Burns, Gordon Olsen, Denise Lawson, and Dr. Loys Maingon of the Mack Laing Heritage Society 

VanMap 1912 Historical Layer
Heather Gordon and Sue Bigelow, City of Vancouver Archives
Jessie Adcock, Miki Shoji, and Linda Low, City of Vancouver 


Heritage Education & Awareness

Award of Honour

GIS Interactive Maps
Victoria Heritage Foundation

The Heritage Site Finder
Jessica Quan, Judith Mosley, Annie Liang, and Diane Switzer, Vancouver Heritage Foundation; David Miller, SplitMango Media Inc. 

The Cole Island Project
Gordon Macdonald and Ben Gourley, Macdonald & Lawrence Timber Framing
Richard Linzey, B.C. Heritage Branch; Tusa Shea and Tania Muir, The University of Victoria Cultural Resource Management Program
Shelley Bruce, Parks Canada
Shawn Thibault, Ravenstone Masonry and Conservation Inc.
Linda Carswell and Barron Carswell, Friends of Cole Island 

Shaping Vancouver 2015: Conversations on the Heritage Action Plan
Javier Campos, Heritage Vancouver Society
Am Johal, Simon Fraser University’s Vancity Office of Community Engagement  


Heritage Education & Awareness


BC Heritage Fairs
Michael Gurney, Evan Fryer, Britney Quail, Tom Morton, and Jane Watt, BC Heritage Fairs Society 


Heritage Planning and Management 


Ioco Townsite Preservation and Preventative Maintenance Plan
Adam Hatch and Christin Doeinghaus, Donald Luxton & Associates
Mary De Paoli, City of Port Moody 


Heritage Planning & Management


Arthur Erickson House and Garden Conservation Plan
Neill Cumberbirch and Donald Luxton 


Heritage Conservation


Taylor Manor
Mitch Sakumoto and Mark Zaitsoff, Merrick Architecture Borowski Sakumoto Fligg McIntyre Inc.
Donald Luxton and Christin Doeinghaus, Donald Luxton & Associates
Alicia Gorska, City of Vancouver 

Okanagan Fur Brigade Linear Trail Park
Mayor Peter Waterman, District of Summerland
David Gregory; Okanagan Historical Society
Ian Graham, Okanagan Similkameen Parks Society
Henry Sielman, Trail of the Okanagans 

Renewal of Ladner United Church
Jim Short, Minister, Ladner United Church

Former Ladner Baptist Church Restoration
Steve Knoblauch, 5008 Ventures Inc. 

Kitsilano Neighbourhood House
Catherine Leach, Kitsilano Neighbourhood House
Sean McEwen, S.R. McEwen Architect
Donald Luxton, Donald Luxton & Associates Inc.
Adele Wilson, Terra Housing Consultants
Dick Reid, Kindred Construction Inc. 


Heritage Conservation 

Award of Honour

Conservation of the Japanese Canadian War Memorial, Stanley Park National Historic Site
Linda Kawamoto Reid, Japanese Canadian War Memorial Committee
Shaun Van den Kerkhof, Van den Kerkhof & Son Masonry
Donald Luxton, Donald Luxton & Associates Inc. 

Dunster Station Museum
The Dunster Community Association 


Heritage Conservation

Outstanding Achievement

Wentworth Villa
Stefan and Magda Opalski
Theo Riecken, Coastal Niche Construction Ltd.
John Keay, Keay Cecco Architecture Ltd.
Simone Vogel-Horridge, Fine Art Conservation 

Ross Bay Villa 
Simone Vogel-Horrige, Ross Bay Villa Society

Single Room Occupancy Renewal Initiative – Hotel Canada, Hotel Maple and Gastown Hotel
Jason Chow, BC Housing; Alex Chang, exp Services Inc.
Daniel St. Gelais, DSG Group
Barry McGinn, McGinn
Engineering & Preservation Ltd.
Christopher Jackson, Ameresco  


Thanks again to our generous sponsors: